Move

(verb) to change one’s place of residence

 

In my search for a new place to stay closer to my work I checked out a couple of share accommodation houses. The first was with a 60 year old woman. It was a nice room, really close to the town centre, but it cost $150 a week. Also I have already lived with an oldish woman before when I used to stay near uni and it was good at that time in my life, but I don’t think it would be very helpful now. The other house was $60 a week all expenses. Bargain! Except it’s in the poor area of town, nicknamed ‘the bronx’ and I’m not sure how easily I would be able to sleep with a baker, a baby and 18 year olds partying on the weekend.

 

I also got offered a couple of other places. $90 bucks a week in a house about 15 minutes away with a married couple and their two month old. And with a single mother and her two pre-teen kids for about $80 a week in a house really close to the centre of town. Both of these had certain appeals, and I’ll keep them in mind for future reference.

 

Nothing I was offered exactly grabbed me by the head and dragged me joyfully towards it but I thought how is it possible to go terribly wrong with $60 a week? Even if I can’t sleep very much…But I should be able to move quickly if it turns out real bad, which I’m hoping it doesn’t.

 

I’m really looking forward to not having to drive 50 minutes a day. It really takes it out of me.  Plus there are lots of roadworks happening that probably add about 5 minutes to the journey. I have never had great success with housemate relationships. We got on fine, but that was about it. Maybe this time it will be different.

5 thoughts on “Move

  1. I’ll be praying for you bro!!!!

  2. I would go for the $60 a week living arrangment! It sounds like a steal… is it all a shared living arrangement? Well I hope this all works out for the best, sounds like it will be great to be closer to your work and still have some independence from the home-life.
    Keep strong in all of this.
    God Bless,
    Jared

  3. Chris I’ll keep your search in prayer.    It sounds like things are going well for you right now, other than the drive.
    Blessings,
    Lonnie

  4. I invite you to check out a new Christian site http://www.asoldierforchrist.com  started by a couple of college students with their main desire to help spread the gospel and to learn and grow in Christ. It has Online Tools to study the Word and various Forums so that Christians can share by posting God given insights and messages for others to learn and grow. And it also offers music links, discussion groups, prayer request, plus much more. We are all in this one soul at a time…God Bless!

Leave a Reply

