Thoughts

On Monday I went and looked at the place I’m moving to and it was pretty nice. Newish, and with air conditioning to battle the hot Aussie summer. I think I will like living there. The guy was pretty nice and we will hopefully have a third housemate so it won’t be much more expensive then where I’m living now. The place I’m living in now has grown on me in a way. It’s an experience to live with people who are totally different from me, and helpful for journalism because it can give me an insight into how others think and do life. But I’m not going to be sad to leave.

The guy I had/have a crush on has moved on and I didn’t really notice his absence. His friends were massively missing him. Like making scarecrow models of him in the loungeroom in tribute to him. I wonder what it’s like to be a person that can make people miss them so much and have such a close relationship with friends that they need to know every little detail of their friend’s new life in the big city. And yet I know that things are not really that simple. Unfortunate life circumstances, perhaps at home, led to a desire to find deep relationships elsewhere. Maybe there is an overly large desire to people-please, and when you have an appealing personality, balanced with the right amount of vulnerability this trait, which can turn into a negative clingy desperation in others, becomes a big positive. Then there is the extraverion that can always think of something warm and interesting to say, but is something that can make an introvert tired just thinking about it. Anyway all this is a convoluted way of saying that though I was slightly envious it wasn’t so much a pity party.

Though I am not the kind of person that seeks minor details about everything from my friends. One of my closest friends began a new course on Thursday (I thought he had started the week before) and after thinking about this I sent him a text to see how it was going. Want a friend; be a friend and all that annoying true stuff. It turned out he had begun that very morning and I was accidently ahead of myself, which shows how well I keep track of other people’s life events. In all honesty as an introvert I found the full on-ness of non-stop people time at high school draining. I much prefer spending a few hours with someone on the weekend and enjoying it and then having a break again.

One thought on “Thoughts

  1. You know what’s interesting bro….I never took you for an introvert (maybe because I’m such an extreme extrovert!!!!) It’s funny how we’re all wired so different….I “recharge” not from isolation…but from imersion into a crowd of people!!!……:) hhahahahahaahhaaTake care man!!!!

Leave a Reply

