Motivation

A couple of years ago I was doing occasional preaching at my parent’s church and I decided to do some speaking on the book of James. I liked James, because here was a guy who seemed to be full of practical advice. It would be relatively easy to preach out of, because of this, and the fact I wouldn’t need to know lots of theology.

In a couple of chapters James is talking about works and how faith without works is dead. The first time I preached on this subject I was like ‘faith without works is dead’ then emphasising all the things our we, as Christian , should be doing.

The second time my focus changed. Somewhere I came to see that while faith without works is dead. Works without faith is also dead. And that more faith should lead to more works. I thought maybe the reason we don’t do many is works isn’t just a matter of disobedience, but also because of a lack of desire, because of we don’t know God as we could. 

I think if someone loves God more and has a greater appreciation for who he is; both in the head and the heart. They are more like to do what he wants them to do. I know this to be true for myself. Sometimes when I feel close to God his commandments are not at all burdensome. Other times they feel like weights, but usually this is when i am focusing on the ‘rules’ instead of the Rulegiver.

2 thoughts on “Motivation

  1. Dang…a writer and a preacher!!!!!!  A man of many talents you are!!!! 🙂

  2. Hello Mr. B,You worked hard to make your site simple yet elegant. I see that you have a strong desire to serve God. Now is a good time! I recommend the one true God, Jehovah. He has an important message for all of us: 1 And now, O ye priests, this commandment is for you. 2 If ye will not hear, and if ye will not lay it to heart, to give glory unto my name, saith Jehovah of hosts, then will I send the curse upon you, and I will curse your blessings; yea, I have cursed them already, because ye do not lay it to heart. (Malachi 2:1-2) (ASV)

Leave a Reply

