Not been my week

SOMETIMES you just need to have a good whine; here’s mine:

 

The week started full of promise, but those good days of Sunday and Monday didn’t follow through into the rest of the week. Tuesday was below average, but I think it was Wednesday where it really went downhill. Nothing bad, even close to bad happened, but it was one frustration after another.

 

During the day my boss upstairs called my phone and announced I was the lucky person to cover the cricket (it’s a sport) presentations on Friday night. Ugh, double ugh. It is my weekend to work so that’s how I got this job. Trying to take pictures of people in various states of intoxication and get their name spellings is probably as close to photographic hell as you can get. So that was a bit of a dampener on my future outlook. Actually the main point of my bosses phone call wasn’t that I had to take pictures there, but that he didn’t want me to come in to work until later (ie 1pm) on Friday so he would have to pay me less overtime penalties. Charming. Anyway went home after work and, wallah, my housemate has bought a house. He is the ‘renter’ here and I ‘board’ off him. He’d been looking for a while, but has had house hunt phases before that have come to nothing. His new home is two bedrooms and there are three of us here and as I am hoping to move to a new job in the suburbs after mid-year he wants the other housemate to go with him for stability. So I will have to find a new place in June. I could just take over the lease for this unit, but as I am hoping to move I don’t want to be locked down to a 12 month contract.

 

On Thursday for some reason my boss wanted me to go to a two and a half hour seminar on dairy farming stuff. Usually you’d go for the most interesting talk or at the end to take some pictures of people eating lunch. But, no, poor Chris had to listen to a full complement of speakers. There was more than an hour on farm profitability, then fascinating information on fertilizer followed by an exceedingly interesting talk on pastures. The title of the pasture talk was “what can replace ryegrass?” or something, but his conclusion was that nothing could replace ryegrass, so it was a bit confusing. Also Thursday I discovered that instead of working Saturday I was working Sunday, which was going to annoy my weekend plans. Anyway went home that night and my housemate says ‘if you try and go on the internet and it doesn’t work it’s because I cut it off.’ This hit me hard. (My housemate didn’t do anything wrong. He’d been thinking about it for a while and I was only paying a token amount as he was claiming the net cost as a business expense. He was on a super expensive plan I would not have wanted to take over, but hadn’t warned me Thursday was termination day). Since I’ve had super-fast net at home it has been a mainly good thing with the ability to messenger with friends and read stuff. It’s especially been good when I have to work on the weekend and need stuff to do. For the rest of the night I was walking around in a kind of state of shock. As I will be moving soon I’m thinking twice before paying the $100 internet installation fee, then $40 a month, followed by the $60 moving/cancellation fee to get on the web again. (As I’m working this weekend I can get away with going to the office to use the internet).

 

Friday was the worst. Trying to fill in a couple of extra hours in the morning with no internet was boring and hard, and by the time I get to work I was in a relaxed mindset rather than a working one, which made the whole day a chore. So to what I expected to be the lowlight of my week….at about 7pm I arrived at the cricket presentations. They did a few awards at 7.30pm. These weren’t too bad with only a few people in each picture and no one was drunk yet. Then they had a break for dinner and I walked to my newspaper office to get a drink of water. Unlocked the door, went in and typed in a password for the alarm system. Unfortunately, I realised later, I was typing in my bank account PIN number and not my security number. Whoops. Alarm goes. Rang up the security people and they said type in your number and I realised my mistake and typed in my security system number. Then the security person said typing in the wrong number sets off the alarm and you can’t turn it off for 10 minutes. Yay, double yay. The alarm is a lot noisier then I imagined it would be. A lot. Need to cover my ears noisy. So I went out the back to the toilet where it was quieter and waited 10 minutes for the stupid thing to stop ringing. Then typed in right number and it stopped. Whew. Had drink of water.

 

So back to cricket presentations. The journo from the other local paper had arrived and I had a good chat to her. Then more presentations and photos. These were the worst. It was the team of the year for six grades of cricket. There is 11 people in a team. The organisers had given us sheets of paper with names on so we arranged them in that order, so we didn’t have to go “what’s your name?” “sorry, what was that?” “You mean W-h-i-t-i-n-g?” “Uh, what’s your real name?” “I’m not stupid; I know who Ricky Ponting is.” But it was still hard work making sure they stood in an order that matched the list on the sheet in a noisy room with cricketers who don’t care heaps. There were a few changes here and there as well as absences, so I marked them on the paper. A slight highlight of the night was when I took individual photos of each of the cricketers of the year for each of the seven grades. If all those photos go in the paper that’s $14 rather than $2 for one photo of them all.

 

So the night was over. I walked the 15 minutes to my home relieved and it didn’t rain on me. Woot. But, no, my week wasn’t over. When I arrived home I discovered the “super-important sheet of paper” with cricketer names, absences and what clothes they were wearing for matching to photos later was GONE. Now I want to cry. My boss’ obsession with proper names, in the correct order is unparalleled. This was not going to go well for me. So I get in my car and drive to the hall where the presentation was, ‘hello drunk people’ and look for where it should have been. It wasn’t there. Ugh. Like I said this paper is important and therefore I need to do everything possible to avoid the “uh, don’t know name orders or people absent” conversation on Monday morning. I drive back home and decide to walk back over my path from the hall to home. It’s now 11pm, so avoid other crazy people walking the streets and retrace my steps. I’d probably done 1.3km; past the park, petrol station, offices, supermarket, laneway, pub, across the road, past my office, past gym and I’m getting close to the hall and still no sight of this precious yellow paper. Then lying in front of the drycleaners was the said piece of yellow paper. YAY. Double yay. I walk home relieved (not happy) and see no more crazy people. Not that they’d have wanted to meet me then; I had a torch and I wasn’t afraid to use it.

4 thoughts on “Not been my week

  1. Chris I’m sorry you’ve had a tough week.  I hope and pray the next goes better!BP

  2. Wow, that does seem like a week from down under.  But at least it ended on a “relieved” note, instead of a more frustrated note.  You found that paper!!  But next week has to be better, it just has to be.  And you’ve made it through the tough days, so the only way to go is up.  Throwing up a prayer for you bro!-Vance

  3. My favorite line in your story was “it’s a sport”.    Hope next week is better for you.  (And hey, going without Internet can be a good thing for a short while.)

  4. I agree with Jeff. Sometimes it’s good to be without internet for periods. It forces us to refocus our time. I have a different favorite line. I enjoyed the ending that said you had a “torch.” I think that’s what we call a flashlight in the states? It made me happy. I love cultural things like that. Hope next week goes better for you!

Leave a Reply

