Settled and satisfied

I LOVE that time following a move to a new location (in terms of house and the wider community) and it feels like home.

I’m feeling that this month. My friends who live here have adjusted to my presence and invite me to their place or activities and vice versa frequently. The roads I now use and the shops I visit feel somewhat familiar. I like going to the local library on Saturday morning, when I happen to be free, to slowly read the weekend newspapers. My garden is slowly growing and surrounding my home with green life. I see my family, in person, almost every fortnight. I have settled into work at my school and am ready to create many positive learning experiences in Term 2.

My church is going great. I love it. I feel at home there. It is deep and biblical and passionate and real. I’ve started going to a home group and it is amazing. The same great things about the church are present there.

I’ve been having a tough time with temptation and thankfully there has been some let up in the past week or so, which has been refreshing and much needed.

One of the common pains experienced by many guys dealing with SSA is that they feel like they are always the initiator in friendships and never the receiver. The current four days I have received five invitations for various meals and activities compared to only one I made. It’s hard to feel the weight of that. My life isn’t how I used to think about it 7 years ago. I don’t say this to boast or shame, but simply as a way to highlight that sometimes the sun comes out and it’s a beautiful day even if there’s been a lot of cleansing and refining to get to this point.

I guess the other point to make is that even if at one stage I thought what I saw as minimal initiation was a major problem (and to be honest I probably always exaggerated it anyway; people have always initiated to some degree) the solution has been less helpful than I imagined it would be. I think it’s an important point that our dissatisfaction or ‘needs’ can feel so strong and yet their fulfillment can feel so ho-hum as if the issue was not what we thought our needs were but the power we gave these quasi lies over our emotions.

I feel like my post on internet friendships may have sounded like the words of a bitter, lonely person sitting at home wishing someone would say ‘hi’ on skype, but it’s not the case. I have a full and satisfying physical life with the people around me as demonstrated by this weekend. I also desire a full and satisfying internet life with people from all corners of the globe. I enjoy interacting with people over long periods of time and would always welcome the opportunity to get to know anyone reading this more if you’d desire to befriend an Australian guy.

3 thoughts on “Settled and satisfied

  1. I am really glad to read this, and its so important to feel at home at Church! It sounds like you are being blessed in all areas of your life dude.  God blesses those who seek after Him, and definitely keep up the good work.  We all go through trails, and through them, we do our best to grow and learn from them.  

  2. Loved reading this!  Good on ya man.

  3. God is good all the time! Very encouraged by your post; praise the Lord for what He is accomplishing in your life!

Leave a Reply

